Be careful what you click on after visiting links on Facebook

March 08, 2011 By: erik Category: Complaining, Fighting Stupidity, Internet 862 views

Rate this post:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...Loading...

Facebook ExclamationSpammers can be really clever sometimes. Apparently there is some way to game the Facebook “Like” button such that any click on a webpage can be sent to Facebook as if you had clicked the “Like” button. So what people do is they bait you with a juicy looking webpage, and then once on the page, when you click to view a video, or sometimes they pop up a dialog saying “To verify that you are human, click here!”, and that click gets registered as you “liking” that webpage. With the change last week where there is now no longer much difference between “liking” and “sharing” in how a web page shows up on your Facebook wall, this technique is gaining even more steam. From what I can tell, they aren’t doing anything particularly malicious other than tricking people into posting salacious looking crap to their wall.

Naughty Miley

The most recent manifestation of this phenomenon is with a supposedly naughty video of Miley Cyrus. On someone’s wall, and in your news feed, it looks like this:

BEWARE! Miley Facebook Spam

When you click on the link, it takes you to a webpage that looks like this:

Fake YouTube Trickery

Look like a video sharing website you’ve seen? The first thing that I noticed when I saw this page is how the font looks the way crappy non-anti-aliased fonts look in Internet Explorer on Windows machines. Sure enough, any click anywhere on this page results in Facebook posting this to your wall.

While I don’t know the intricacies of how Facebook’s “Like” button code works, I’m pretty sure that they could fix this with more careful javascript checks to verify the exact element the javascript event was fired on.

Until then, be very careful of what you click on after you see that a friend has “liked” a link that seems a little too interesting. And if you do fall for this (I did once), go to your wall and remove the post immediately to stop the spread of the spam to your more gullible friends.

 
Tags: ,
  • http://www.facebook.com/jane.a.george Jane Ann George

    I’m afraid to click this link.

    • erik

      It’s the clicks after you leave Facebook that are potentially dangerous.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jane.a.george Jane Ann George

    :-D

  • hilltop

    Was there a naughty video of Miley Cyrus or not?

    • erik

      You’ll just have to sign up to Facebook to find out, now won’t you, hilltop?

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1475576743 Jason Levine

    Paul, stop lurking on your wife’s FB account

    • hilltop

      Facebook lurking would be much more fun if there were pictures of Rupert wearing a Hanukkah shirt. We must all come together to find a charger for Jason’s camera.

  • http://rainypamplona.blogspot.com Mother Theresa

    Yeah, I’ve seen people “like” things that I never thought they would, and I have to admit that my curiosity got the better of me and I went to see what it was all about, but I’m not sure if anything has gotten posted to my profile or not…guess I’ll have to check. Is the Miley thing for real, or is that just a fictitious example to make a point? I haven’t seen that one pop up on anyone’s page yet.

    • erik

      It’s almost certainly fake. There’s certainly no video on the page it sends you to.

      • http://rainypamplona.blogspot.com Mother Theresa

        No, what I meant was, did you make that up as an example, or did one of your FB friends have that on their page? :D

        • erik

          No, this is a real example. Dozens of my friends have fallen for it. I mainly wrote this page so I’d have a place to send them rather than continue to explain it.

  • http://www.thefickleforgettery.blogspot.com Wanda

    WoW…Erik, this happened to me last week with the same Miley video, I quickly deleted it like you said! Thanks for the info about this problem.